New Monochrome to be Announced Next Week (End of April)

ivohula

Based on the M240, better, faster, newer, bigger, higher ISO, more dynamic range, bigger buffer, probably cheaper than the original price of the first one (around $7,000), live view, will sell in smaller numbers than the original one, mostly to upgraders.

Of course, I have no actual knowledge about any of this, just my speculation, but let's see how many I got right.

Wishful thinking : Leica M type 246 - no LCD display

The only advantages of no LCD that I can think of are (1.) no time wasted chimping, (2.) if someone demands that you delete the photo you just made of them, you can show them the back of the camera and say that you can't delete it and (3.) you don't have an LCD to crap out and replace down the road.

Am I missing something?  Are there other advantages to no LCD, or is this just an odd Leica fad that will soon pass?

(JMHO, but any photographer worth his/her salt does not chimp in the middle of shooting and miss the chance to make other images to begin with).

Edited by Carlos Danger

btw Leicarumors are reporting that it won't be announced tomorrow, but within 30-60 days

http://leicarumors.com/2015/04/29/the-new-leica-m-monochrom-typ-246-camera-will-not-be-announced-tomorrow.aspx/

The usual pinch of salt etc....

I've been "reliably" informed from sources outside the UK that it will be tomorrow. Order placed sight unseen.

I've been "reliably" informed from sources outside the UK that it will be tomorrow. Order placed sight unseen.

I hope you're right. It would be nice to see something new come along, even though I have no intention of ordering one

I hope you're right. It would be nice to see something new come along, even though I have no intention of ordering one

And you wouldn't either if your Monochrome CCD would suffer from corrosion and had the chance of a good trade-in?