Struggling to love the M-P 240

paachi

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi Guys

My first post here on the forum. I have been a long time rangefinder user; I recently upgraded to the Leica M-P Typ 240 and needed some advise. 

I am not a professional photographer but I do take it seriously and enjoy it quite a bit. My main styles of shooting are street and portraiture. My current kit is an Epson R-D1 with a 40 Summicton, 15 Heliar and 90 Elmar-C. I have been using the Epson for nearly 8 years. It has serviced me more than well. I love shooting with it, limitations and all. However recently it has been showing its age

1. The sensor is only 6MP so sometimes when I need to crop the image it doesn't lend to a lot of flexibility

2. The APS-C sensor size meant DOF and wide angle challenges

3. Battery life and 2GB memory limit precludes any serious usage for mission critical stuff

Summarily I felt it was he right time to realize a 10 year dream and move up to a Leica. I just purchased a Typ 240 M-P with a 35 Summicron ASPH a few days back. Here is the challenge..with the caveat that I have used the camera for only a few days, I am really struggling to bond with the camera or its images. Some of my gripes are

1. The M-P images don't look as pleasing to my eye as my RD1 images. They lack the film like feel I think I got from the Epson

2. The camera itself feels a lot less analog and detached from the minimalism gestalt of Leicas (I also have an M2 for film duties). My RD1 I bonded with right from the first moment and every time I pick it up its like meeting an old friend again

3. The menus are IMO overtly complicated. Just too many options and not structured well. The person who came up with the button layout needs a swift kick in the arse