Slide Scanning DPI Help Needed

Advertisement (gone after registration)

After years of looking at boxes full of slides in my closet, I've finally begun the project of scanning to digital.   

I have a borrowed Nikon Super Coolscan 4000 and a 13" Macbook Pro Retina and I purchased Vuescan Professional Version.  Once scanned I've been importing to Lightroom 4

95% of the scans will end up just be viewed on the Macbook Pro.  If I do make prints, they would more than likely be 4 x 6, maybe 5 x 7.  On a rare occasion I could see an 8 x 10.

I'm scanning jpeg and at 4000 DPI, I'm getting almost 2 minutes per scan....  slow and painful.....

at 2000 DPI, I'm down to about 50 seconds or so.  

I'm new to this and really feeling my way through as I go but can those more experienced then me offer some advice?  

I'm most interested in thoughts on...

• Raw vs. Jpeg
  • Suggested DPI based on use described above.  Am I ok at 2000? to save time
  • Any workflow secrets or suggestions...  

Thank you so much for any input......

Hi JT, for my scans on a Nikon , I'm going to the max.capacity of the scanner, ie more than

5000 px in "Tiff", (but it's long, I agree) but never Jpeg , because it's compressed.TIFF allows

a possible correction , in digital equivalent of the DNG.
If you have photos you want to keepdo like me.

An example :  this picture is scanned in 5576 x 3729

http://www.l-camera-forum.com/topic/205842-i-like-filmopen-thread/?p=2795861

Best

Henry

Edited by Doc Henry

JT,

I'm not a scanner, I've tried a couple but never really enjoyed the process. Of late my "scanning" has amounted to placing the developed negs (B&W) onto a light box and copying them with a "BEOON" copy unit (and using usually my Fuji X-E1 as the camera). This allows me the ability to share these with others on the net, but I'd be unlikely to print from them, for that I go the wet way.