Leica 75mm summarit vs 75mm cron apo

stump4545

The Summicron has 1/2 stop faster, closer focussing distance, built-in (but almost useless) hood, no rubberized focus ring and a slightly softer bokeh i've been told but i have no experience with the Summarit. I would probably order the latter if i needed a back up to my Summicron though.

what is the benefit of a "rubberized focus ring"?

and why is the 75mm cron built in hood useless? too small to be effective?

thanks!

no benefit on the rubberized focus ring, none that i care for at the least :D

the hood is a bit short for it to be effective IMHO, but i find that the cron doesn't really need to help from the hood in most situation any how, so no love lost there. i always liked the built-in hood though just for the fact that i can grab my lens without having to worry about accidentally touching the front element, i just grab the whole of the hood worry-free.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have both, and I prefer the Summarit. It is easier to carry, easier to focus, takes E46 filters, flares less, and is sharper at the frame's center.

The Apo-Summicron has slightly less lateral chromatic aberration and more even performance across the frame—that is, better corner sharpness at or near full aperture ... but to me, this doesn't outweigh all its shortcomings.

• Like 2

I have both, and I prefer the Summarit. It is easier to carry, easier to focus, takes E46 filters, flares less, and is sharper at the frame's center.

The Apo-Summicron has slightly less lateral chromatic aberration and more even performance across the frame—that is, better corner sharpness at or near full aperture ... but to me, this doesn't outweigh all its shortcomings.

How do you rate the newest Elmarit-M (the one discontinued in 2008), apart the half-stop difference ?