Agfa RONDINAX 35U User Report

janrzm

I've been using one since the 1960s and for me, at least, it has been much more convenient than going into the darkroom or changing bag, and trying to thread the film onto the spiral spools. When I began doing medium format work in the early 1990s, I was delighted to find that there is a similar Rondinax for 120 film. Very nice review by the way.

• Like 1

OK, I've gone and found one on the 'Bay. Now I realise I will have to figure out new agitation schedules for various developers and films. Takes me back to the Gnome bakelite tank belonging to my father that I learned on. Agitation was via a spindle inserted through the central filling funnel; this twisted the film back and forth, as the tank could not be inverted - it wasn't leak proof. If only half the film is immersed, it is obviously important to keep it rotating. Are you finding you have to cut development times much to counteract the continuous agitation?

Chris

The RONDINAX was a very cool device which succeeded by virtue of its ease of use, and better yet it was such a kludge that many were led to more effective ways to develop film. The only requisite to better was to dive under bed-covers and load a roll on a reel. :)

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I found mine after searching through around 20 boxes of stored things. I am amazed. It is so easy to use that I'm surprised it was not more popular than the Paterson. Presumably that was because it would only do one film at a time. Just a little adjustment to the developing times and :D:D:D.