film ruined by airport security

sksaito

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I HAD to take a roll of Ilford delta 100 still in my camera through airport security. I'm a beginner photographer so I have no experience in this matter. I thought the lower ASA films are okay and the higher ASA films have problems from security scanning. It got ruined; none of the exposures came out. Is there a canister or some protective case I can use to transport film through the airport? If so, where do I get them?

Wen you say "didn't come out" can you be more specific? Blank? Black? Fogged? Sprocket holes visible? Banding? I doubt that you have suffered from x-ray damage. I suspect something considerably more mundane.

Regards,

Bill

Airport scanners are perfectly safe with films, even with multiple passes. If you put film in lead bags or similar, they just turn up the x-rays do that they can see inside. I put mine in a clear plastic bag and place that separately on the conveyor, which means they don't need to use a higher power. I have never had a fogging problem, even with films that have been on several trips.

Try another film now you are not going through the airport and see what the results are.

Edited by andybarton

If your film was really ruined by an x-ray scanner (unlikely these days), you can always do a book with the pictures:

photo-eye Bookstore | Rob Hornstra: Safety First | photo book

Safety First is entirely composed of negatives which were damaged by x-ray scanners during our stay in Grozny. In the Chechen capital, these scanners are not only placed at the entrance to the airport or government buildings, but also to shops, gyms, restaurants and outside on squares.
This was probably due to ancient scanners that put out about half the radiation of the Chernobyl reactor disaster.

Modern scanners in modern airports are supposed to be safe for all film that is ISO 1600 or slower. Key word being supposed.