Camera Store complaint and praise

lcrl

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all,

My name is Robert Lindsay, and I don't have a Leica yet, but I hope to get a M9 this fall for my 50th Birthday. I've been orbiting around the Leica universe for years, as a kid I annoyed the staff at Heller's camera in Bethesda MD. When I graduated college I nearly bought a M5 or a CL but the store in OKC didn't seem too interested in selling me one, and I needed the money to support my future ex-wife.

Anyway I've noticed that a lot of my photos are taken with wide angles (or the wide part

of the 18-200 zoom on my D90) so I started thinking about a Leica again. Eventually I discovered that there was a store in the DC area that actually had one in stock.

(Ace Photo in Ashburn VA, Heller's camera being long gone by then). I went out there

and they graciously allowed me to put my own memory card in their M9. I took a few pictures with my son (age 3, who was having a fine time pushing the buttons on the

point and shoots on display) and went home and was stunned with the images at just the jpegs I got!

Since then I've been out there roughly once a month, and they've always been kind and friendly, even charging the batteries when their M9 battery is out (while my son, plays bongos with monopods...)

As a contrast I was recently on a trip to Chicago, and went by the Central Camera store there to see if I could show my wife my current obsession. Unfortunately the person there basically said they only had 1 M9 and it was staying in the box unless I wanted to buy it. They weren't rude, but it was clear that they wouldn't mind if I just moved along.

The point being I guess, had I not held a M9 and actually took some pictures with it,

I never would have been able to justify it, and I'd probably dropped all the money on some overpowered mac pro instead.

• Like 1

So in 50 years you haven't bought a Leica yet.

One store lets you play with one, the other doesn't.