Jump to content

The Leica Forum uses cookies. Read the privacy statement for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    OK, understood.

Photo
- - - - -

Minolta DiMAGE Scan Elite 5400 driver for MAC needed


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 lincoln_m

lincoln_m

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 302 posts
  • City / Ort:Swindon, UK

Posted 11 June 2011 - 19:24

Advertisement (Gone after free registration)
Hi,
Suddenly my drivers on MAC OS X snow leopard 10.6.7 have stopped working with Minolta DiMAGE Scan Elite 5400. The scanner hardware works fine on my MacBookPro as it has a newer driver installed (2005) than the original's(2003) on the boxed CD. I think I reinstalled the original drivers in an attempt to get things working so accidentally removing the working updated system files or something. I get the "Unknown error" and removing the MFSLibInit 0KB file from ~/Library/Preferences/DiMAGE Scan does not help it just crashes the Scanner setup window. The trouble is that all the Scanner downloads on the web point to Konica Minolta who no longer support Scanners or Cameras.

Did anyone save the MAC install package for installing the later version Scan Elite 5400 (not elite II 5400)? If so how big is it? Could it be sent via e-mail (<10M) or on a CD if bigger? I'm sure we can arrange some compensation for your efforts. Just copying over the files from the MBP to the iMAC doesn't solve the problem as there are other files installed during the install process so a proper install package is needed.

I guess the other option is to get the Pro version of Vue Scan, or put up with running the scanner from the MBP laptop then transferring the files to the iMAC.

I'll also have the same trouble if/when I upgrade the iMAC hardware to the new quad core in that I'll need new drivers and the Minolta ones on the CD don't work.

Regards, Lincoln

#2 01af

01af

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 6,756 posts

Posted 11 June 2011 - 21:08

After 20 seconds of googling, I found this.

#3 lincoln_m

lincoln_m

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 302 posts
  • City / Ort:Swindon, UK

Posted 12 June 2011 - 00:44

Olaf,
I owe you one. Thanks so much, seriously appreciated. I don't have to change over to digital camera just yet.

I was searching for "Minolta Dimage Scan elite 5400" which only turned up old links to Minolta site that were broken. I even went on Konica Minolta site Europe and searched for Scan Elite which gave no hits. Now when I try Konica Minolta I can find this site.

Downloaded and installed. It is working but now it seems that my USB2 expansion (Belkin) device does not power up so it says "Confirm connection" swapping for a direct USB connection does work. I'll have to put the printer on the Belkin USB hub instead of the scanner.

Thanks, Lincoln

#4 cbretteville

cbretteville

    Sponsoring Member

  • Premium Member
  • 3,281 posts
  • City / Ort:Oslo, Norway

Posted 12 June 2011 - 06:16

Just thought I'd mention that with Vuescan you don't need drivers to operate the 5400. I run mine this way on 10.6.7.

Carl

#5 elgenper

elgenper

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 911 posts
  • City / Ort:Stockholm

Posted 12 June 2011 - 12:15

Just thought I'd mention that with Vuescan you don't need drivers to operate the 5400. I run mine this way on 10.6.7.

Carl


Another strong vote for VueScan, both with this scanner and most others. I don´t even bother to install the drivers that come with scanners any more...

#6 mob81

mob81

    Neuer Benutzer

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 12 June 2011 - 12:58

I use mine with Vuescan all the time and the outcome is very good. I use the Minolta Scan software only when I have a dirty slide or negative and it needs ICE for a clean up! unfortunately, No way to profile the scanner with Minolta Software but is very easy with vuescan

#7 tobey bilek

tobey bilek

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 3,826 posts

Posted 12 June 2011 - 18:44

That link works and I used it for my new Snow L iMac.

Send me a PM if you need the free unstufit file to unzip it. Took me half a day to get it.

#8 timj

timj

    Neuer Benutzer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 12:58

Anyone have an up to date link? The one near the top no longer works when you actually attempt the download.

Many thanks, Tim

#9 gunnarinla

gunnarinla

    Neuer Benutzer

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • City / Ort:Los Angeles

Posted 09 May 2012 - 00:52

...my goodness...I found my way back here from a google search, trying to find a solution for my Minolta Dimage Scan Elite 5400, Mac Pro and SnowLeopard conundrum – I had thought that this was never going to be possible and my scanner has been sitting since 2008.
...that's when I went digital, but I still have lots and lots of slides I would want to scan sooner or later.
Anyway, someone mentioned that with VueScan (which I had downloaded yesterday) it would be possible to scan – so I hooked it all up – first with Firewire (which did not work) then USB which did work!
So now I have scanned my first test slide taken with Leica and Kodachrome 25 when the Spruce Goose was towed in the Long Beach harbor to its exhibition dome...this...is VERY exciting!
However, I don't know if I will buy VueScan – although there are controls, there seems to be some lacking – for example, I do not see how I can determine file size exactly – this is not good enough. You select "print" and "8x10" or whatever...that's ridiculous...
Haven't checked scan (file) yet, but looked pretty good on screen....I understand there will be a watermark...

#10 CalArts 99

CalArts 99

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 1,345 posts

Posted 09 May 2012 - 04:30

.
However, I don't know if I will buy VueScan – although there are controls, there seems to be some lacking – for example, I do not see how I can determine file size exactly – this is not good enough. You select "print" and "8x10" or whatever...that's ridiculous...
Haven't checked scan (file) yet, but looked pretty good on screen....I understand there will be a watermark...


Open up the advanced settings for more options.

You might also want to consider the Pro version for profiling and IT8 calibration, and also raw scan capabilities (plus lifetime free upgrades.)

Vuescan is quite robust and worth the relatively small amount he asks for, especially considering that it is not hardware specific like Silverfast.

#11 biglouis

biglouis

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 7,493 posts
  • City / Ort:London

Posted 09 May 2012 - 06:30

I know this is OT but I have never used profiling or IT8 calibration all the time using Vuescan with my Epson V700. Am I missing something important by not doing it?

LouisB
My new book "Ampthill: a picture book to remember her by" now available
Take a look at my Flikr stream
My website: http://www.louisberk.com

#12 wattsy

wattsy

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 6,534 posts
  • City / Ort:UK

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:21

Am I missing something important by not doing it?


Not if you are happy with the colour you are getting from your scanner. Profiling is useful (although IMO it isn't always the magic bullet it is often hoped to be) if the colour seems consistently off.
Ian Watts
Tumblr // ianwatts.uk // flickr // Instagram

#13 biglouis

biglouis

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 7,493 posts
  • City / Ort:London

Posted 09 May 2012 - 12:57

Not if you are happy with the colour you are getting from your scanner. Profiling is useful (although IMO it isn't always the magic bullet it is often hoped to be) if the colour seems consistently off.


Thanks, Ian. I stopped doing printing at home since discovering a very reasonably priced printer based in Yorkshire. The colours I get back are very good - so good I don't bother to check them against the screen - so I guess I'm OK with the setup I currently have.

LouisB
My new book "Ampthill: a picture book to remember her by" now available
Take a look at my Flikr stream
My website: http://www.louisberk.com

#14 stunsworth

stunsworth

    Sponsoring Member

  • Premium Member
  • 20,973 posts
  • City / Ort:The grim North

Posted 09 May 2012 - 14:25

I know this is OT but I have never used profiling or IT8 calibration all the time using Vuescan with my Epson V700. Am I missing something important by not doing it?


The profiling only applies to slide film anyway, so if you're scanning colour negative there's no profiling.
Steve

Website
Flickr
Twitter

#15 CalArts 99

CalArts 99

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 1,345 posts

Posted 09 May 2012 - 20:37

The person who asked about Vuescan said that they were scanning Kodachrome. That's why I brought up IT8.

Silverfast still has some Kodachrome IT8 targets left for sale. But they're not cheap.




0 user(s) are reading this topic