L1/D3 "digital back" project questions ... any camera repairman out there?

audidudi

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm adapting an L1/D3 body to work as a "poor man's digital back" on my 2x3 view camera because I need movements for much of the urban/back-alley stuff I photograph. Given the relatively short flange-to-focal-plane distances involved, I need to make the body as thin as possible thus I'd like to remove the "bump" on the right side grip as this will make it easier to fab an adapter to mount it on my view camera.

I removed the grip last night and discovered it does double-duty as a cover for the flash capacitor. Which brings me to my question: Can I simply remove the capacitor (I have no need for the built-in flash in this application) and then tape over the loose wire ends or will this somehow screw up the camera's operation? (FYI, my background is mechanical engineering, not electrical, and my knowledge of electronics is pretty much limited to vacuum tube audio gear, so I'm very much out of my element here.)

Also, can anyone recommend a good source for small quantities of camera-sized metric hardware? Unfortunately, the local shop I sourced this stuff from previously has gone out of business.

Thanks!

you err, do realise that flash capacitors can retain like 'deadly' voltages yes ?

why not invest in an Olympus shift lens and an OM adapter mount ?

or look into the Lensbaby system ?

or one of the DIY shift lens ideas around on the net ?

you err, do realise that flash capacitors can retain like 'deadly' voltages yes ?

Yes, I do know at least that much! (In fact, I've worked with them in vacuum tube amps for over two decades and have learned to be very careful not to get "bitten" by them.)

why not invest in an Olympus shift lens and an OM adapter mount ?

or look into the Lensmate system ?

or one of the DIY shift lens ideas around on the net ?