leica where do you go to?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I’m new on this forum although I’ve been reading it for some time. As a professional photographer I feel the need to say something about Leica and I am curious what the memberst think about my words. In my opinion Leica is going in the wrong direction. I have used Leica gear for more than twenty years. It was in the analogue days when the M was a lightweighted and pretty fast tool, very suitable for dynamic subjects. ( AF was not developped yet, or still not that good.) In these days it is totally different. Compared to other modern cameras the M has become a rather slow tool, due to the lack of AF. I can say that though I'm experienced and quick with it.The camera also has become rather heavy. For a RF much too heavy.

Recently Leica produced a new camera next to the M. The APS-C sized T. This time with autofocus, and a new line of lenses, including zooms. Let me keep it short: as many reviewers wrote, the T is very slow for a compact. Slow AF, slow in handling. Cheaper cameras like the Sony A6000 are much, much faster, apart from other advantages.. Still Leica introduced this camera as the best thing we've ever made ( Kaufman). In fact it is design and luxery instead of an excellent photographic tool. All in all the brand still does'nt have a camera that can easily handle dynamic situations and that's exactly the reason why the majority of pro's are not using Leica anymore. Ofcourse there is the quality of the glass, but the difference is decreasing. A good example is the Voigtlander Ultron 21 mm. On par with the summilux 21, at one sixth of the price!

If Leica really cares for the essence of photography, they should build something up to modern standards. A M with a fast AF, or a new line that professionals can take seriously. The essence is indeed being able to make the picture.

• Like 4

Where is Leica going to?

Attaining 1% of the total photographic market.