Leica User Forum


Go Back   Leica User Forum > International User Forum > Leica Products > Leica M (Type 240)

Leica M (Type 240) The Leica M240 Forum is dedicated to everything around the new Leica M (Type 240).

 Leica Products
Leica M240 Leica M Monochrom Leica M9 Leica M-E Leica X Vario
Leica M240
Amazon US | B&H | Dale | Adorama | eBay US | Leica Deals
Leica M Monochrom
B&H | Dale | Adorama | eBay US | Leica Deals
Leica M9
Amazon US | B&H | Dale | eBay US | Leica Deals
Leica M-E
Amazon US | B&H | Dale | Adorama | eBay US | Leica Deals
Leica X Vario
B&H | Adorama | Dale | Amazon | eBay US | Leica Deals
Reply « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29/05/13, 01:02   #1 (permalink)
Benutzer
 
Join Date: 07/02/11
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 75
Default Shutter count on new M 240?

Ad
Is there a utility or way to understand the shutter count on the new Leica M? The "Unique Image ID" in the EXIF does not seem to follow the M9's hex->decimal formula.

Thanks,
-dan
danedit28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thank You says
Ario Arioldi (29/05/13)
Old 29/05/13, 01:14   #2 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
adan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04/03/04
Location: Denver
Posts: 5,532
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

I don't know about Leica - but Canon has begun encrypting their shutter actuations so no one can read them since the 7D.

Shutter counts became essentially meaningless once video and live view entered the picture, since a video "take" of 15 minutes will only count as one shutter actuation.

A camera with, say, 2000 actuations, may have been used:

Really hard to capture 500 hours of video for a hundred productions, or

By a photographer who used live-view to view the world 2,000 times - but only actually took 200 pictures, or

By a photographer who never uses live view - and took 2,000 still pictures.
adan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 01:23   #3 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
pico's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16/10/06
Location: Driftless Zone Minnesota USA
Posts: 8,017
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Sure. There are plenty of people who can bust the code, however we do not have adequate samples of exposure data to work with, and I doubt anyone is inclined to provide such. If it were important I would expect Leica to inform us. Perhaps they will.
__________________
Life is short, art long, opportunity fleeting, experience deceptive, judgment difficult — Hippocrates
pico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 01:33   #4 (permalink)
Benutzer
 
Join Date: 07/02/11
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Mainly the reason I'm asking is because my new M started with "L1004xxx.DNG" whereas when I received my new M9 two years ago, the frames started with "L10000xx.DNG."

Did my new M require 4,000 test shots during production or was it assigned to start in the 4,000s for some other reason?

Last edited by danedit28; 29/05/13 at 01:37.
danedit28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 02:02   #5 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
mirekti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24/01/13
Location: Dallas
Posts: 597
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

My started with L100001.dng, but I believe one could reset it anyway.
The fact yours started at L1004 is a bit akward, though.
mirekti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 06:30   #6 (permalink)
Benutzer
 
Join Date: 24/06/07
Location: Dallas
Posts: 55
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danedit28 View Post
Mainly the reason I'm asking is because my new M started with "L1004xxx.DNG" whereas when I received my new M9 two years ago, the frames started with "L10000xx.DNG."

Did my new M require 4,000 test shots during production or was it assigned to start in the 4,000s for some other reason?
Might have picked up the folder count if the SDHC card was used in your M9 or whatever. I even had a Canon 1Ds Mark III inherit a file number from a M9 when I used the same SDHC card.
John Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 12:49   #7 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
thighslapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22/08/10
Location: shakespeares territory
Posts: 2,537
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danedit28 View Post
Mainly the reason I'm asking is because my new M started with "L1004xxx.DNG" whereas when I received my new M9 two years ago, the frames started with "L10000xx.DNG."

Did my new M require 4,000 test shots during production or was it assigned to start in the 4,000s for some other reason?
User error .... either in the factory or inadvertently by the owner......

I am on my 4th digital M so all my cards are set to use Leica400 as a default folder and seeded to start at L400xxxx so I have unique numbering from each camera.

There is no way to find the number of actuations as the unique file number is a semi-random number generated with a new sequence starting every time the camera switched on.

Only Leica knows the algorithm that generates this.
thighslapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 13:25   #8 (permalink)
Sponsoring Member
 
overgaardcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14/06/03
Location: Aarhus
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

For your self, the way to find out is to search for M240 in Lightroom. This will give you the total of DNG and JPG files in that LR catalog that is shot with the M240.

But it will be nice when someone tell how to count them, either with a software or via the menu.
overgaardcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 13:40   #9 (permalink)
jrp
Benutzer
 
Join Date: 24/03/13
Posts: 77
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thighslapper View Post
I am on my 4th digital M
No wonder they are unobtainable if existing owners seem to be able to get multiples.
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 15:31   #10 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Join Date: 23/01/10
Posts: 6,153
Default Re: Shutter count on new M (Typ 240)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by thighslapper View Post
I am on my 4th digital M ...
No wonder they are unobtainable if existing owners seem to be able to get multiples.
Obviously he did not mean his fourth M (Typ 240).
01af is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29/05/13, 19:47   #11 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
thighslapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22/08/10
Location: shakespeares territory
Posts: 2,537
Default Re: Shutter count on new M (Typ 240)?

Ad
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01af View Post
Obviously he did not mean his fourth M (Typ 240).
Really ?

I need at least 3 to match my 3x 50/2.8 collapsible lenses
thighslapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/06/13, 08:42   #12 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Join Date: 11/12/11
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 442
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Quote:
Originally Posted by adan View Post
Shutter counts became essentially meaningless once video and live view entered the picture, since a video "take" of 15 minutes will only count as one shutter actuation.
What is the point here ? Live View does not wear the shutter.
CheshireCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/06/13, 09:10   #13 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
pico's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16/10/06
Location: Driftless Zone Minnesota USA
Posts: 8,017
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheshireCat View Post
What is the point here ? Live View does not wear the shutter.
The shutter has to open to do live view, then when a picture is taken it closes, opens and closes for the exposure, and opens again. That's not wear?
pico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/06/13, 18:10   #14 (permalink)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Join Date: 11/12/11
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 442
Default Re: Shutter count on new M 240?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pico View Post
The shutter has to open to do live view, then when a picture is taken it closes, opens and closes for the exposure, and opens again. That's not wear?
Ok, so shooting in Live View triples the shutter wear if one takes just one photo (no electronic first curtain in the M).

Then again, the time spent in Live View mode or while recording a movie has nothing to do with shutter wear.

Last edited by CheshireCat; 01/06/13 at 18:57.
CheshireCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Bookmarks

Current eBay Ads

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
© juergensen.net - Andreas Jürgensen