Gorilla glass vs. sapphire glass

martha

Advertisement (gone after registration)

(I am not sure if this questions goes here or elsewhere, but....)

Can someone reference a link to relative merits of Gorilla glass versus sapphire glass. I will also be happy to hear folks' opinions of relative merit of each.

Thanks in advance.

--martha

Gorilla is basically a cheaper sapphire glass. i'm no expert in LCD glass by any means, mind you. Gorilla glass is being used on today's modern phones like the iPhone 5. it offers good scratch resistance, but not nearly as indestructible as the sapphire.

• Like 1

I think the reformulated schott glass giottos started using on their protectors last year is a little stronger formula than the gorilla formula. I have a giottos on my nex 7 and it’s been great for a year now with no problems except finger prints which are quickly taken care with a lens microfiber cloth. I’ve only had the sapphire m9p for a couple of months but it seems to be excellent protection..... and i didn't have to worry about getting it on straight :)

Sapphire crystal is MUCH more expensive to manufacture....at least 10-20 times more expensive than Gorilla glass. in terms of useability----Gorilla glass is essentially a coated glass which rivals Sapphire in terms of hardness and scratch/break resistance. Both are a huge improvement over the otherwise el cheapo plastic screen cover used in regular camera screens.

I love the sapphire screen on my updated M8. easy to clean and never any scratches.

I cannot find much on this, but what glass is on the M-E? (I am thinking ordering one as a backup)

I was wondering that myself, Michael. Thanks for asking.

In anticipation of a trade for my coffee stained 8.2, I am wondering if they will offer me an M9, M9p or ME. Glasswise (and cosmetically), I certainly would prefer an M9P from what I've read here, but may not have a choice. Alas.

Thanks to all above and below for your responses to my query.

• Like 1