stand development

Olimatt

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello,

I am a film beginner and experimenting with BW development. I have been sticking to only one developer (DD-X) and trying to learn how it behaves on several films.

I also got some Adonal (Rodinal)... and found today some articles about stand development in rodinal.

What is your opinion on that development technique ? It seems that it is possible to develop the same film at different speeds (pushed up to 2 stops) using the the same development time!? This opens to me a new world of possibilities !

I am grateful for any feedback.

Best Regards,

Olivier

I have never used stand development with Rodinal, but it does seem to be the 'in thing' at the moment.

Whenever I use the semi stand or stand method it is with compensating tanning developers like DiXactol or 510 Pyro and you can pretty well use the same development time for all films of any speed. The thing about different formulations for Pyro style developers is that they are either very sharp but slightly grainy, or very tiny grain but slightly less sharp, which is why I use them with medium and large format only, both small increase's in grain or slightly less sharpness become insignificant. They aren't so good for 35mm.

But I think Rodinal should work very well, it is a very effective technique for controlling highlights while giving the shadows time to develop. What I have read is that some people seem to get uneven development over long times, say an hour, but from the forums it is hard to determine if this is the user or the technique at fault. If I were you I'd start with a semi-stand version of the formula, and use a film that you know has plenty of highlights that would normally be a problem, then you will see if it works for you.

Steve

Yes, and Rodinal reduces film speed anyway, even in normal development.