M9 sensor cleaning

Bill Allsopp

I thoroughly agree.

and me too.

Prevention is better than cure.

The only thing I can add is blow out the mirror chamber ( mirror up and down) or similar space in Leica after each outing. Do with shutter closed. The idea is to get rid of junk before it migrates to the sensor.

Only open if there is a known problem.

I have had digi cams for years and never had a sensor dirt problem.

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

The Lenspen company also makes an illuminating loupe with a cutout through which you can apparently use one of their SensorClear pens to get at the sensor.

I'd recommend the loupe but I have no experience with the pen gadget. Looks a bit scary. I like the Visible Dust swabs, myself.

By the way - getting the batteries into this loupe almost requires neurosurgical training.

• Like 1

Steve's method is pretty much what I do but I would always blow dust out of the chamber before opening the shutter. If specks still persists I get the loupe out and check and have a go (very carefully) with the arctic butterfly. If that fails I will do a wet clean.

and me too.

Prevention is better than cure.

The only thing I can add is blow out the mirror chamber ( mirror up and down) or similar space in Leica after each outing. Do with shutter closed. The idea is to get rid of junk before it migrates to the sensor.

Only open if there is a known problem.

The best Idea is not to put junk into it! We forget,that every time we turn a lens on a plastic/polymer lens cap, a tiny fragment of the cap gets scraped of and sticks to the lens bajonet.

The moment you put it on the camera, it will get polluted by this kind of plastic dust. So take a littel bit of eclipe and a swab, and clean the bajonet. The black stuff is no grease, but polymer.

Set your aperture to f16 and point your camera at the plain, blue sky. You might be surprised.